March 6, 2017

Hey Guys!

This week went by pretty fast, but was pretty good!
I am still learning a lot here in the mission office, and am getting the hang out it. Elder Meredith and I went to the federal police station to get some documents for some missionaries and he showed me where to go to renew visas, register people in the country, and a bunch of other stuff! He also showed me how I can register people in the federal police system to mark them appointments there to do all the visa stuff. There are so many people trying to get an appointment at the federal police that I am marking appointments there for the end of August. So, it is pretty backed up there. If I don’t pay attention of the federal police website, an opening can come up, and be gone in a few hours, so I have to keep my eye out for stuff that happens there!
I learned that if I don’t mark someone an appointment and take them to renew their visa, the church people in São Paulo will eventually take the missionary out of the mission, fly them to São Paulo using our mission’s funds, and personally renew the missionary’s visa. So basically, I could screw up pretty bad if I don’t pay attention to how long the missionaries have been in the mission!
This week we had a zone conference with President Silva, and there were about 50 missionaries here in Florianópolis.  I took advantage of having a bunch of missionaries there, and had a bunch of missionaries sign some documents that I need to send in to São Paulo. Other than that, the zone conference was good!
Saturday was Luiza’s baptism, and it went pretty well! She decided to only invite her family and friends, but she must have a lot of friends, because there was like 30 people there! She seemed pretty happy to finally be getting baptized!
We taught Lucas and Aline yesterday, and continued teaching them about the Plan of Salvation. We go really slow with them because they always have a bunch of questions about everything. Despite going slowly, they seem to be understanding everything really well! Lucas is excited to be baptized and they are working on getting things ready to get married here soon!
Yesterday after lunch, a member decided to show us some cool scenery here in our area. It is a little beach with a small island out in the ocean. It was on a street called “Rua da Praia” which literally means “Street of the Beach”, so it seems to be pretty self-explanatory.
That is pretty much all that happened this week! If anyone ever has any questions or something to ask, feel free to e-mail me to ask!
And for those that were wondering, I have 4 and a half months left on the mission. I will be arriving home on July 26th!
Hope everyone has a good week!
Love your favorite missionary,
Élder Spencer Reece Peterson
Leave a Reply

