April 8, 2017

Hey Guys!!!!

This week was a pretty normal week!!
I enjoyed General Conference last weekend, and it was cool to hear that there will be a another temple in Brazil! I go into every General Conference weekend waiting to hear them announce a new temple in Iowa, but I think that there is still some work left before that happens!
I really enjoyed Elder Valeri V. Cordón’s talk, ‘The Language of the Gospel’. I think since I am in a different culture, speaking another language, I can really relate to the example in his talk! I have noticed in my life when I am studying the gospel, I am still ‘fluent’ in the gospel, and still have the spirit with me. The same has been for me and Portuguese. When I am studying and practicing, I am speaking well. When I don’t practice, I get worse. I have even seen this with English! After so long of not speaking English, my English is not as good as you would think!!
I have been working really hard in the office to stay organized and finish everything on time. I have been managing to to get everything more organized from when the last secretary was here. I am trying to get everything ready for when I have to teach someone else in June how to do all this for when I go home. I am trying to make it easier for him to understand everything, and I think I am doing a good job so far.
This week we had a little more time to go out and visit people, and we went and taught the family of Sheila and Lucio. They have been ‘investigating’ the church for a while, and we got to know them better. They still have a few things to resolve, but we will work with them more to help them stop drinking/smoking.
A family of recent-converts that we visited is Patricia and her two kids, Stephanie and Ryan. They really liked the other missionaries that were here before us and that left recently, so we got to know them a little more, and showed them a Book of Mormon example of when the missionaries change! It was in the time of the sons of Mosiah and Alma the Younger.
That is basically all that happened this week!!
I hope all of you guys have a great week!!!
Love,
Your favorite missionary,
Élder Spencer Reece Peterson
P.S. – Sorry for the lack of pictures, I will try and take some more this week!!
Leave a Reply

